The Samuelson Law Firm
DWI Information
DWI
AA and Outpatient Alcohol and Drug Treatment
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
Breath & Blood Tests
Challenging DWI Evidence
Drivers’ License Restoration
Driver Responsibility Surcharges (DPS)
Driving While License Suspended or Invalid
DWI and Prescription Medications
DWI Appeals
DWI Penalties
Expungements
Failure to Stop
Field Sobriety Tests
Ignition Interlock Devices
In-Patient Drug and Alcohol Rehabilitation
Leaving the Scene
Occupational Licenses/Restricted Driving Privileges
SCRAM bracelets
Table-Top Home Breath Machines
Types of DWI
Unlawful Police Stops
Vehicular Manslaughter
What is the DIVERT Program?
Contact Our Firm Today!
Visit our Blog
Free Case Evaluation
Houston DWI Lawyer Attorney Information DWI Defense Practice Areas Frequently Asked Questions Recent Cases Contact Us
What To Do After Being Arrested Top 10 DWI Mistakes What Happens After a DWI Arrest?

Vehicular Manslaughter Charges

Driving while intoxicated is illegal in the state of Texas. Any individual who gets behind the wheel of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or more is considered to be driving while intoxicated. Whether the so-called intoxication came from alcohol, prescription drugs, or another controlled substance such as marijuana or cocaine, does not matter. What does matter is that the individual got behind the wheel while they were severely impaired, thus putting themselves and many innocent lives at risk. Commercial drivers can be arrested and charged with DWI if they have a BAC of .04, and drivers under the age of 21 can be arrested and charged with an underage DWI if they have a BAC of .02.

According to Texas Penal Code 49.07, if a drunk driver is involved in a DWI with injury accident resulting in serious bodily injury or risk of death to another, they are facing a third degree felony charge. A third degree felony carries up to $10,000 in fines, between 2-10 years in jail, and no less than 160 hours of community service, amongst other penalties. If the accident caused a fatality, charges of manslaughter will be brought against the responsible driver. Whether by accident or mistake, vehicular manslaughter is a second degree felony and carries penalties of up to $10,000 in fines, 2-20 in state prison, and no less than 240 hours of community service.

If you or a loved one is facing vehicular manslaughter charges, you need an experienced attorney who will work hard fighting to protect your rights, no matter the odds or obstacles. You need to consult with my firm immediately. As soon as you contact my firm, my staff and I will take steps to rapidly review your case and the charges against you, analyze all evidence and accident reports, interview and collect witness statements, analyze how best to proceed, and help build you the aggressive defense you deserve.

Arrested for vehicular manslaughter?

Vehicular manslaughter is a very serious charge. Although it carries lesser penalties than murder, vehicular manslaughter penalties are severe because they involve the loss of life of one individual, at the hands of another individual, whether by accident, mistake or as a result of provocation. How such cases are represented and tried play a large role in whether the accused will be facing misdemeanor or felony penalties. For the last 15 years I have been successfully representing clients facing all manner of DWI charges in the Houston and Harris County areas, including vehicular manslaughter charges. I have first-hand knowledge on how difficult these types of cases can be. I also understand that your life, your freedom and your livelihood are at stake, so I know how important it is to build a solid and aggressive defense right from the start.

While I will not guarantee any specific outcome in any given case, I do promise that I will do everything I can to obtain the best possible outcome. I will treat your case as if it was my own, and I was facing vehicular manslaughter charges and needed the most aggressive and effective representation possible. My staff and I are committed to getting the same results for clients that we would want for ourselves.

281-407-9553
Social Media
Attorney Web Design
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.