Driver Responsibility Surcharges (DPS)
In the state of Texas, a Driver Responsibility Program has been established by Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 708 and is overseen by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The purpose of the program is to allow a system wherein surcharges can be assessed based on specific traffic offenses. These surcharges, or administrative fees, are charged to drivers based on the number and type of convictions that have been reported to their record.
There are two primary criteria which are used to determine whether or not surcharges will be assessed. The first criteria is a point system for moving traffic violation convictions. Any person who receives a moving violation conviction, as per Texas Administrative Code, Title 37, Part 1, Chapter 15, Subchapter D, Rule 15.89, will have two points added to their record. Three points are added for a moving violation conviction that results in a crash. Each time points are added, they remain for a period of 3 years. Should any driver accumulate six points or more, they will be required to pay a $100 surcharge for the first 6 points and $25 for each additional point.
The second criteria is conviction based. Any driver who is convicted of any of the following specific offenses, will be required to pay an annual surcharge for a period of three years following their conviction.
- No drivers' license or an expired license, is a $100 per year surcharge
- Driving while license suspended or invalid is a $250 per year surcharge
- No insurance is a $250 per year surcharge
- First time DWI is a $1000 per year surcharge
- Multiple DWI is a $1500 per year surcharge
- DWI with blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 of more is a $2000 per year surcharge
If you or a loved one has received moving traffic violations, has been assessed driver responsibility surcharges, or has failed to pay surcharges and had your drivers' license suspended, you need to consult with The Samuelson Law Firm as soon as possible. My staff and I will be able to review your case, evaluate the ticket or charges against you, and help you determine how best to proceed. Aggressively fighting traffic ticket and other charges can prevent them from being reported as convictions to the DPS, thus eliminating any surcharges from being assessed.
DWI Lawyer Serving the Houston Area
As soon as you receive a moving traffic violation ticket, I urge you consult with an attorney at my firm. Due to the surcharges which can be assessed on drivers after numerous traffic violations, or specific driving convictions, it is extremely important that you have an attorney who will aggressively fight your ticket or the charges against you. If you do not act quickly you could be facing heavy fines, the loss of your drivers' license and increased insurance rates. Even if you are already paying surcharges, my staff and I can review your case and work directly with the DPS to either clear your record, or get the charges or amount you are paying reduced.