The Samuelson Law Firm
DWI Information
DWI
AA and Outpatient Alcohol and Drug Treatment
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
Breath & Blood Tests
Challenging DWI Evidence
Drivers’ License Restoration
Driver Responsibility Surcharges (DPS)
Driving While License Suspended or Invalid
DWI and Prescription Medications
DWI Appeals
DWI Penalties
Expungements
Failure to Stop
Field Sobriety Tests
Ignition Interlock Devices
In-Patient Drug and Alcohol Rehabilitation
Leaving the Scene
Occupational Licenses/Restricted Driving Privileges
SCRAM bracelets
Table-Top Home Breath Machines
Types of DWI
Unlawful Police Stops
Vehicular Manslaughter
What is the DIVERT Program?
Contact Our Firm Today!
Visit our Blog
Free Case Evaluation
Houston DWI Lawyer Attorney Information DWI Defense Practice Areas Frequently Asked Questions Recent Cases Contact Us
What To Do After Being Arrested Top 10 DWI Mistakes What Happens After a DWI Arrest?

Penalties for DWI Convictions

Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime across the United States, and Texas is no exception. In fact, the state of Texas currently leads the nation in drunk-driving accidents, as well as those accidents that cause death. Because of this, state law enforcement has placed an extreme focus on Texas drivers, and makes many arrests both of individuals who are driving under the influence of alcohol, and those who are not intoxicated in any way but still meet an officer's personal criteria for a DWI arrest. Your experienced Houston DWI attorney should take an aggressive legal defense approach that can contend with the vigor that many prosecutors bring to a trial, especially in cases where victims have died.

Any driver who returns a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent may immediately be arrested for DWI. In many cases, an officer may request a field sobriety test which can also result in arrest if the officer believes the driver is under the influence. First-time DWI offenders may face up to 6 months in jail, license suspensions up to 1 year, and fines not exceeding $2,000. Those who are convicted a second time face fines ranging up to $4,000 with a maximum 1-year jail sentence and license suspensions up to 2 years. Three-time offenders face fines up to $10,000, up to 10 years in prison and 2-year maximum license suspension. Each conviction also requires a specified cost that must be paid for a driver to retain their license, and these costs rise significantly with each conviction.

DWI Defense Lawyer Serving Harris County, Texas

The Samuelson Law Firm has a wealth of experience in Texas DWI laws. I, along with my hard-working and loyal staff, have defended the accused in many cases where drivers have been incorrectly charged with DWI and thought they were out of options. The focus of our firm is to approach each case as though we were facing the charges ourselves. We utilize this method because we know that our clients are open to any option that may find success in court, and the personal opinions of your attorney should have little impact on what's best for you and your defense. My name is Chris Samuelson, and I have worked hard for nearly 15 years to provide Houston drivers with the kind of straight-forward, powerful defense that is necessary for success against Texas DWI charges.

281-407-9553
Social Media
Attorney Web Design
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.